Jason Starr’s The Craving

thecravingUSI shouldn’t have expected the “expected” ending in Jason Starr’s “The Craving”–the sequel to “The Pack”–since every novel of his had surprised me at the end. Yet, I was shocked. I was devouring the last ten+ pages (just like Simon Burns, the protagonist, devours everything that’s meat), anticipating–no, craving!– for the desired outcome, and…what? Huh?!?! Seriously? That’s not how I would end this tale! That’s not how most writers would’ve ended it! But this novelist hates the predictable. And guess what? I applaud him! Well done, Mr. Starr! I give you 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

