Rudi & Gretchen

MOM_withpupsIt’s hard to let go of beloved pets who become family from the day you bring them home from the pound. At least that’s how it is in our family. Our dogs brought such joy to our lives that it broke our hearts when they passed away. Memories of happy days with our beloved Rudi and Gretchen were not enough, so when writing, it felt right to give them a “second life” on the pages of my novels. It felt good to spend time with them again, healthy, happy and alive. In Without Thinking Twice you’ll briefly meet Gretchen, the sassy, fox-like beauty. And in A Measure of Guilt, both Gretchen and Rudi (the smart, regal-looking, black-haired pal) get to romp around a San Diego beach, where my husband and I spent two weeks with them in real life.

The picture on the left was taken in Arhus, on a family vacation in Denmark in 2007.

4 thoughts on “Rudi & Gretchen

  1. I know exactly how you feel. My husband and I lost our beloved cat, Ginger, almost five years ago and to this day it hurts to think that she’s no longer with us. The idea of giving your pet a second life in prose is a good one and I would certainly do the same myself, if I wrote books. Keep on writing and giving your pets many more years of a fictional “afterlife.”

  2. I met Rudi while I was visiting you guys in Texas and the most vivid memory is that you were treating him with so much love, just like a child, wiping off his paws with the towel after his walk outside 🙂 I am sure he is in doggy heaven thinking about his “mommy and daddy” who loved him unconditionally.

  3. Thank you, Galina, for remembering Rudi. Then again, how can you not remember such a beautiful, friendly and smart doggie?! 🙂 And you’re right, we loved him and he loved us. Well, you’ll meet Rudi again in my novel, A Measure of Guilt. I immortalized him! 🙂

Leave a Reply

