Brazil Butt Lift (BBL)

I’m in my second half of a 60-day workout program BBL (Brazil Butt Lift) and still loving it. Yay! Or rather, loving it more, since I’ve now gotten the hang of it. It wasn’t easy in the beginning because of the intensity. Unlike Tony Horton, the author and trainer of P90X, this instructor, Leandro Carvalho, doesn’t give you any breaks between various exercises—to take a sip of water or wipe the sweat off your forehead—and neither does he explain the moves, expecting you to just imitate the girls on his team, as if you’re a natural. So I struggled to keep up with their fast tempo, falling out of step, losing balance, falling onto my knees, feeling clumsy and downright ridiculous. But I laughed it off and kept shaking and wiggling my butt and lifting and swinging my legs and arms, and my efforts have paid off: I’ve finally memorized, if not fully mastered, all the moves and am doing much better. Yes! My perseverance is not the only thing that has helped me stay the course. Teaming up with my Beachbody coach, Galina Morrissett, who did BBL before and has picked it up again, has been invaluable. We discuss our progress on the phone and on the Internet, and keep each other accountable and motivated. It’s fun!

4 thoughts on “Brazil Butt Lift (BBL)

  1. Your perseverence is admirable! Not many people can stick to a routine like that, especially when it makes them feel “ridiculous.” Good luck and keep us posted on your progress.

    • Thanks, Vin. You’re right–sticking to a routine like that is not always easy, but the end of any journey is always “sweet” to me. Once I put something (my goals) in writing, I always love to record the end result. That helps.

  2. It has been such an unusual workout experience – that’s for sure!!! I LOVE having you as my accountability partner. Even living in different states I can’t skip a workout because i know you’ll ask me about it! :)) I was never good at “dancing” moves, free weights feel much more natural for me than “shaking up”, but I really enjoy it too! And i must say as well that I too seem to master some moves which I never even attempted or heard of before! It would be so cool if we could record ourselves on Youtube, it would be a pretty funny video :)))
    Sooooo, what’s our next program together, podruga? P90X? 😉

    • Galina, thanks for your response, and for being a wonderful coach/partner in my fittness endeavors. A video? Great idea, but I have to think about it. 🙂 What’s next? P90X it is! Definitely!

Leave a Reply

