Emily Giffin’s “Heart of the Matter”

Ladies, you will love Emily Giffin’s Heart of the Matter! It’s about a proverbial love triangle, yes, but it’s the first story (fictional and real-life) that I felt sympathetic toward both the wife and the “other woman” and couldn’t decide who I wanted Nick to be with. Tessa and Nick’s marriage is a solid one, based on love and respect, sealed with their two children, so, naturally, their family should stay intact. But Valerie’s long-awaited chance for happiness has finally arrived and you just want her to be happy—paradoxically, with Nick.

The novel is so thought-provoking and so well-written, I highly recommend it. I’d love to discuss it with someone and see their point of view.

4 thoughts on “Emily Giffin’s “Heart of the Matter”

  1. I hated Valerie! I thought Nick was in ‘lust’ with Valerie not in love. Nick was horrible…his treatment of his wife and kids was disgusting. Tessa should have left him in the end and found someone new. Nick deserved to loose everything.

    • Taren, thanks for your opinion. I see what you mean regarding Valerie and Nick. I didn’t hate Valerie because I can understand her unwillingness to socialize with those snotty women in her new community (I might be wary of them too), because she feels she doesn’t belong there, and she has her reasons. On the other hand, yes, I found it a bit annoying too that she, being judgmental of them, doesn’t even try to be friendly with them, until the very end. As far as her falling in love with Nick, well, you can’t tell your heart who to love and who not to. It’s Nick’s fault because if he hasn’t encouraged this relationship, Valerie wouldn’t have expected anything personal from him, except for curing her son. And that’s who I felt bad the most–her son. He was led to believe that Nick would be more than a doctor to him and to his mother, and then Nick just relegated him to another doctor without saying goodbye. That’s a betrayal. Well, I wanted Valerie to be happy, but of course I felt bad for Tessa. Maybe you’re right that Nick deserves to lose both women, then again…why did he lust after Valerie in the first place? Why do spouses cheat on each other? It’s a very good question, and the author attempted to address it. This book would be good for discussion in a book club. Thank you for visiting my blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

