Find Time to Write!

From all the interviews that I’ve read in numerous issues of The Writer and Writer’s Digest magazines, I’ve learned the most valuable advice that every successful author gives aspiring writers: Allot time for your daily writing and stick to it no matter what!

In order to achieve that you need to do a few things, some of which are as follows:

One: Put a “Do not disturb” sign on the door of your study, warning your family about your absolute need for a quiet writing time. Two: Disconnect the Internet, eliminating your temptation to check your e-mail or to browse for hot world news. Three: Glue your rear to a chair and stay in it for 3-4 hours at a time, without taking a break, until you produce a certain number of pages or words (assigned to you by yourself).

Well, what about my current situation?

One: Yes, I can certainly put a warning sign on my door, if my two canine children could read. But even if they could read, by some miracle, I doubt that they would pay attention to it, much less heed my request, being very young and thus in need of constant release of their energy and something else that requires going outside, especially our four-month-old Greta, who is not completely housebroken yet.

Two: Right now, I can’t possibly disconnect the Internet or stop checking my e-mail because my human child is traveling overseas, and I need to be available to her at any hour, in case she wants to share her impressions with me, which I’m dying to know.

Three: Yes, I can glue myself to a chair in front of this computer for several hours straight, but if nothing comes to my mind within those hours, I absolutely cannot produce solid, or even slightly satisfactory, 3-4 pages as planned, even if my life depended on it. When ideas and images flood me, however, I can’t type fast enough sentences and paragraphs, and a couple of thousand words fill the screen within an hour. But when there’s drought in my mind, then there’s drought.

So, what’s the solution? Here’s one: Remember the extraordinary feeling of joy of holding your own novel, fresh from the publisher, and you’ll find the time and the way to stick to writing your book, come hell or high water!

Which is exactly what I’m trying to do–every day! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Find Time to Write!

    • Galina, my pen pal! Never thought of it–applying my writing goals to everything else–but it does make sense, doesn’t it? You WILL find time for the things you love! Very true! You’re a fitness guru and you love working out, and you keep doing it, despite a whole bunch of daily responsibilities that you face from the minute you wake up to the minute you roll into your bed at night. Glad you like my ideas. 🙂 And thanks for reading my blog.

Leave a Reply

