Tana French’s “Faithful Place”

I was surprised by the abundance of clues about the identity of the murderer that Tana French gives away from the very beginning of Faithful Place. But I kept reading this superb whodunit not only because I wanted to find out if I guessed right (I actually did), or because of the nail-biting suspense, or because of the masterful depiction of the family tragedy and personal drama, but also because of the protagonist, Frank Mackey, an undercover detective, whom I admired in the previous novel, The Likeness.

For me, the most important factor in a book, of any genre, is language. A novel may have an engaging plot with high stakes and conflicts and twists, as well as remarkable characters, but if I don’t get any joy or thrill from the narration, I usually put it down with a simple “Nah…”

In Faithful Place, Frank is the narrator, and his voice (Oh, that voice!) grabbed me from page one and didn’t let me go until I finished the book. So, even if I didn’t care about the aforementioned important components in fiction, I would’ve read this novel so that I could just “hear” Frank talk! This savvy, wisecracking, tough man is so fascinating that I’d love to know him in real life. I wish Tana French would make him the narrator in one of her future novels.

Needless to say, I highly recommend this one.

Leave a Reply

