Writing Marathon: Day 4

Secondary characters are just as important as protagonists. Luckily, today I didn’t have much trouble with my first one, because I already had him sketched back when I’d first jotted down my novel. This guy’s image came to me in a flash and was so vivid that I felt like I’d met him in person. Sometimes it happens to me, which is one of my luckiest and happiest moments. So it took me only a few minutes to write the entire scene.

According to Donald Maass, “The guiding principle of cast construction is contrast.” (124) Exactly. That’s what makes the cast interesting and memorable. I love contrast in just about everything, both in fiction and in real life. Otherwise both would be boring and colorless. Needless to say, I took his advice.

Yes, I finished revising Ch. 2, but I can’t say it’s finished. It still needs a lot of work. But even if it were decent, I would have gotten back to this scene anyway, again and again, even if for the sake of this new character. I want to make him more “alive” because he plays a crucial role in the novel and thus deserves my utmost attention. 🙂

My real problems will slap me in the face a bit later, when several other characters will show up. But I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.

Leave a Reply

