Writing Marathon: Day 8

“Never put anything in your novel that’s not essential to your story.” (Your First Novel by Ann Rittenberg and Laura Whitcomb, p. 65)

So I went through the first three chapters, again, deleting the unnecessary elements that had sneaked their way into my manuscript, thus shrinking it by two hundred plus words. I want my writing to be taut as a drum. Well, not at the expense of its lyrical quality, of course, provided that I can deliver such quality:), but pretty tight, yes.

Started working on Ch. 4. Enter four new characters, just barely sketched. I’ll have to work more on that scene. The chapter is so long I think I’ll have to split it in two. Tomorrow. I’m so tired right now that I can’t think straight anymore. Done for today.

2 thoughts on “Writing Marathon: Day 8

  1. Wow, this is a LOT of work!!!! I can’t even imagine doing something like this! One gotta have a talent and passion – and you sure do, Nadya! Can’t wait to read your new novel!

    • Galina hi! Thanks for the attention you pay to my blog. Yes, writing a novel is certainly a lot of work. But you know what they say about writing that sounds easy and smooth and natural? The author worked a LOT on this piece! 🙂 And that’s what I’m trying to do. And it’s hard, at times, but it’s fun too. And I love it, I do.

Leave a Reply

