Writing Marathon: Day 12

Chapter 6. Too many characters that I had intended to “sort out.” And so my troubles have begun.

Donald Maass says: “Character differentiation is the technique of making the characters in your cast different and distinct from one another. Here is where diagrams and charts can help. Contrast is the key. When characters are hard to keep straight, it is often because they are not sufficiently individualized.” (Writing the Breakout Novel, 130)

So I started using index cards for my main players, jotting down their names, appearances, actions, quirks, relationships with others, etc. As I go along, I will be adding information about every one of them, so I’ll know them well. There’s a lot to do, but I’m excited. 🙂

Leave a Reply

