NaNoWriMo

nanowrimo-347e908fcd6e84fe77f38fbc8b88bc6c[1]Yay! I just posted the first 1,945 words of my new novel on my NaNoWriMo page.

It’s a start. Not a bad one, considering that the daily quota is 1,667 words. By the way, my tentative title is The Unknown, which reflects both the premise of the novel and my present ambivalence as to how to execute it.

Last night I didn’t know what I would put in my first chapter. So I went to bed and brainstormed for fifteen, twenty minutes, until one idea hit my tired brain. Too lazy to get up and go to my study to write it down, I was clinging to it, hoping I’d still remember it in the morning, and went to sleep. (I really need to keep a pen and paper on my nightstand, seriously.)

Luckily, I hadn’t forgotten that idea. In the morning, it took me only an hour to knock off a thousand words. Light-hearted and light-footed, I went off to my yoga class. In the afternoon, I wrote another thou. I should have posted all that and enjoyed the rest of the day.

Instead, I decided to rake the freshly fallen leaves in my little garden and think about my first chapter. I thought about it, and I thought about it…

As a result, I spent HOURS editing it afterwards. Which was a big mistake. Your very first draft should come from your heart and your gut–authentic, emotional, raw. It’s like a stream of consciousness. It’s usually garbage, of course, but you can find real gems in it–later.

Well, I made this mistake today. I won’t repeat it tomorrow. Starting tomorrow, I’ll just write what comes to me.

I don’t know what I’m going to write tomorrow, though, I’ll need to think about it. But one thing I know: I’ll put a pen and paper on my nightstand right now, in case my muse visits me again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

