Sources of Inspiration for Writers

I love art. Strolling the halls of a museum is my favorite pastime. Needless to say, I love reading art books and stories exploring the art world. Some of them (The Birth of Venus by Sarah Dunant, Girl with a Pearl Earing and The Lady and the Unicorn by Tracy Chevalier, The Passion of Artemisia and Girl in Hyacinth Blue by Susan Vreeland, The Woman Upstairs by Claire Messud) I cherish, keeping them on my bookshelves. Now, I’m about to start reading The Blazing World by Siri Hustvedt and I have several others on my reading list.

From the clip below that I stumbled upon on YouTube, I’ve learned that nowadays, contemporary art captivates the attention of novel writers  more often than before. Why?

Well, one of the essential factors of writers’ fascination with art is that its “high drama can be a backdrop for their novel.” So naturally, they love to attend art exhibitions.

Learn about the other factors in the dialogue below.

Leave a Reply

