Author Interview: Paulo Coelho

When I love a novel, I usually wonder what inspired the author to explore a certain theme. How does a writer find his topics, anyway?

Just like a tree grows from a tiny seed planted in soil, a 300-page book grows from an idea that pops into your head. I find it amazing.

Speaking about my books, the ideas for each of them came to me in different ways. The letter-game for romantic suspense Disengaged was suggested by a friend, who became my coauthor; the idea for romance Without Thinking Twice was born from my need to fight certain stereotypes; the subject of my mystery A Measure of Guilt was inspired by an actual event that shocked me so much that I wanted to fictionalize it; and the idea for the thriller that I’m working on now popped into my mind when I typed the last sentence of A Measure of Guilt—Why don’t I write a sequel?

What prompted Paulo Coelho to explore the subject of spousal infidelity in his latest novel Adultery?

He explains it in the video below.

By the way, Paulo Coelho calls for a discussion of Adultery. Well, I posted my opinion this week and I suspect that many readers may not agree with it. But I would love to discuss it here on my blog.

Enjoy! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

